News‎ > ‎

CorkO 2019 Summer League Prize Winners

posted 26 Jul 2019, 15:06 by Elaine Sheridan
Cork Orienteering Club is delighted with the success of our 
2019 Summer Orienteering League. We very much appreciate the support from the many individuals and families who regularly made the journey every Tuesday evening to the various destinations throughout the city and county. 

Throughout the league campaign our Long courses covered a total of 45.3km across the various destinations while the Short courses amassed a staggering 23.5km of forest tracks and trails. Not so Short when you add them all together!  It was marvelous to see so many people trying the sport of orienteering for the first time. Over the 10 competitive weeks of the league we had over 185 individual entries on the Short course and a further 149 unique entrants attempt the Long. Furthermore, it was fantastic to see so many of these individuals young and old getting bitten by the orienteering bug. They not only got more competitive each week but also became very determined to finish the league and claim their technical league finisher t-shirt. This year we have close to 100 league finishers who are all eligible to receive these fashionable running tops which means they can orienteering in style this Autumn. 

On the competitive side of things we had ten fiercely competitive events and many worthy event winners. The overall league which required competitors to complete at least six of the ten events was hugely competitive right throughout the results table.

Although the Champion titles for all courses were decided in advance of the final competitive event the remaining prize winning places went down to the wire at our last individual event in Ballyannon Wood.

On Tuesday evening following all the relay action in Farran Forest Park competitors adjourned to the National Rowing Centre which was a short 50m walk from the car park where they got to enjoy a scrumptious BBQ. When everyone was served the summer league prize-giving ceremony commenced.

Prizes were awarded to the top five men and women league finishers on the Long course and the top three finishers on the Short course. All league finishers on the Short course were awarded medals for their great achievement.

The title of Long Course Men’s League Champion went to Conrad Daly and Aoife O'Sullivan took the title of Long Course Ladies League Champion.

The full list of Long course prize winners is as follows:

Long Course Men's League
WINNER:            Conrad Daly 8pts              
Runner-Up:         Gerald Duffy 33pts
3rd:                      Eric O'Connor 35pts  
4th:                      Dan McDonnell 38pts
5th:                      Jonathan Lucey 42pts

Long Course Women's League
WINNER:             Aoife O'Sullivan 8pts
Runner-up:          Caroline Murray 13pts
3rd:                      Trishia O'Mahony 17pts
Joint 4th:              Sinead O'Donoghue 23pts
                            Sharon Lucey 23pts
5th                       Elaine Sheridan 25pts

The title of Short course Champion went to Isaac Bosonnet. Joint runners up on the Short course was Eoin and Paul Sweeney. The final podium place was further shared by joint 3rd place finishers Erin O'Brien and Chiara Bosonnet.

Short Course League
WINNER:                Isaac Bosonnet 14pts
Joint Runner-up:     Eoin Sweeney 26pts
                                Paul Sweeney 26pts
Joint 3rd:                 Erin O'Brien 39pts
                                Chiara Bosonnet 39pts

This year we had a great number of individuals and families complete the Short course league. No doubt with all this orienteering experience there will be some future orienteering stars in the making here. All the Short course finishers listed below received medals to mark their outstanding achievement in completing the league.

Eve Buckley
Fionn Buckley
Oisin O'Hare
Fionn O'Hare
Ruaudhai O'Brien
Alec O'Brien
Ciara O'Brien
Maeve O'Sullivan
Clodagh O'Sullivan
Tomas Desmond
Stephanie Desmond
Isabelle O'Brien
Siomha McGinn
Ferdia McGinn
Oscar McGinn
Aisling O'Mahony
Laoise O'Mahony
Abbie Collins
Ruadh Collins
Daithi Collins
Rian Moynihan
Emma Moynihan
Luke Moynihan
Max O'Shea
Matthew O'Shea
Aoife Mannix
Shane Murray
Isabelle Murray

It was tremendous to see the sheer delight of many of our junior prize winners at their wonderful achievements. Congratulations to our Champions, winners and medalists and well done to all our league finishers and participants. Some photo's from the event are available at the following link:

We would like to once again thank all the planners and event organisers for helping stage all eleven events in the league. Without them we wouldn't have a league.

Finally, we would also like to thank everyone who participated at all our league events. Without you the league wouldn't have been the success that it was. We really appreciate your support and hope you enjoyed the courses and venues we visited along the way.

Enjoy the break and hopefully see you back and refreshed at the Autumn League.