News‎ > ‎

Irish Orienteering Championship 2017

posted 2 May 2017, 11:35 by Elaine Sheridan
Well done to all our members who donned the club colours at the weekend and represented CorkO at the 2017 Irish Orienteering Championships in Oughterard, Co. Galway. 

Our members traveled from near and far to be in the start box for the most prestigious event in the Irish Orienteering calendar and these championships certainly didn't disappoint. Those in attendance got to enjoy three days of challenging orienteering on technical terrain. We were very fortunate with the weather which made this testing landscape all the more enjoyable. There were some fabulous vistas of Lough Corrib and its environs on offer to remind those who struggled to find the controls they were looking for just why we enjoy this sport so much.

I'm sure there are some tired bodies today but it was all worth it. So huge thanks to WEGO for staging three fantastic days of orienteering. Excellent courses and great organisation all around. Thanks for a great weekend!

There was some fierce competition across all the classes and several CorkO members demonstrated their orienteering prowess and their competitive edge to claim some of the prizes on offer over the weekend. Darren Burke secured the Middle Distance championship title for Cork while CorkO's Marcus Pinker claimed his 10th Classic Distance title. Incredible consistency from Marcus means this record number of wins will be exceptionally hard to beat. Frank O'Brien was the only member of the club to do the double taking the M16 Middle and Classic distance titles. He is already the bookies favourite for the 2017 Summer League title!

The Relay action on Monday was an exciting affair and following a very close contest CorkO secured the Men's Open Premier title. There was an exhilarating finish in Women's Open Premier race and CorkO narrowly missed out on the Women's Open Premier title which went to CNOC on the day. Our Handicap 12 relay team set a blistering pace in this category and had a very comfortable winning margin in claiming the H12 Championship title.

Here is the full list of the CorkO Champions and podium finishers. Unfortunately, we didn't have enough podium pants to go around!

Middle Distance
M21E Champion Darren Burke
M16 Champion Frank O'Brien 
M35 Champion Brian Corbett
M75 Champion Ted Feehan
W12 Champion Zane Kramina
W35 Champion Elaine Sheridan

M70 2nd Bob Pinker
W55 2nd Elizabeth Deane
W70 2nd Clare Nuttall
M21S 2nd Brendan Wall

M70 3rd Robert O'Connor
W12 3rd Mia Kelly Morrish
W21E 3rd Toni O'Donovan
W45 3rd Eadaoin Morrish

Classic Distance
M21E Champion Marcus Pinker
M16 Champion Frank O'Brien
M55 Champion Brian Corbett
M75 Champion Ted Feehan
W70 Champion Clare Nuttall
M21S Champion Brendan Wall

M18 2nd Dan McDonnell
M55 2nd Colm O'Halloran
M70 2nd Bernard Creedon
W12 2nd Zane Kramina
W40 2nd Elaine Sheridan
W45 2nd Eadaoin Morrish

W21E 3rd Toni O'Donovan
M21L 3rd Gearoid Ryan 
M35 3rd Danny O'Hare
M40 3rd Jens Waechter
M45 3rd John Scannell
M70 3rd Bob Pinker
W12 3rd Mia Kelly Morrish

Relay Championships
Men's Open Premier Champions - Cork Exiles - Darren Burke, Share Lynch and Marcus Pinker
Handicap 12 Champions - Better Left Corked - Jens Waechter, Brian Corbett and Colm O'Halloran

Women's Open Premier 2nd - Red Wans - Toni O'Donovan, Eadaoin Morrish and Niamh Corbett

Full Results are available here
April 29th Middle Distance - Leim Oirthear
April 30th Classic Distance - Sruth an Iolra & Log an Chaortain
May 1st Relay Championships - Derreighter

Thanks to the good weather and the photographic skills of Action Photography there are lots of great pictures from the weekend which really capture all the action across this amazing terrain. Be sure to check them out on the Irish Orienteering facebook page at

It was great to have such a great club presences at these championships so congratulations to all for participating and hopefully we'll have an even bigger representation at next year event.