CorkO 2018 Summer League Prize Winners

Post date: Jul 22, 2018 8:51:20 PM

Cork Orienteering Club is delighted with the success of our 2018 Summer Orienteering League. We very much appreciate the support from the many individuals and families who regularly made the journey every Tuesday evening to the various destinations throughout the city and county. 

Throughout the league campaign our Long courses covered a total of 51.7km across the various destinations while the Short courses amassed a staggering 24.1km of forest tracks and trails. Not so Short when you add them all together!  It was marvelous to see so many people trying the sport of orienteering for the first time. Over the 10 competitive weeks of the league we had over 146 individual entries on the Short course and a further 144 unique entrants attempt the Long. Furthermore, it was fantastic to see so many of these individuals and families getting bitten by the orienteering bug. They not only got more competitive each week but also became very determined to finish the league and claim their technical league finisher t-shirt. This year we have close to 100 league finishers who are all eligible to receive these fashionable running tops which means they can orienteering in style this Autumn. 

On the competitive side of things we had ten fiercely competitive events and many worthy event winners. The overall league which required competitors to complete at least six of the ten events was hugely competitive right throughout the results table. Although the Short Course and Long Course Men's League Champion titles were decided in advance of the final competitive event the Women's Long Course title went down to the wire at our last individual event in Ballyannon Wood as did the remaining prize winning places on both courses.

On Tuesday evening following all the relay action in Farran Forest Park competitors adjourned to the National Rowing Centre which was a short 50m walk from the car park where they got to enjoy a scrumptious BBQ. When everyone was served the summer league prize-giving ceremony commenced.

Prizes were awarded to the top five men and women league finishers on the Long course and the top three finishers on the Short course. All league finishers on the Short course were awarded medals for their great achievement.



The title of Long Course Men’s League Champion went to Conrad Daly and Elizabeth Jakobsson took the title of Long Course Ladies League Champion.

The full list of Long course prize winners is as follows:

Long Course Men's League

WINNER:             Conrad Daly 6 pts              

Runner-Up:          Dan McDonnell 12 pts

3rd:                      Darragh Hoare 21 pts  

4th:                      Eric O'Connor 27pts

5th:                      Cathal Lane 36 pts

Long Course Women's League

WINNER:             Elizabeth Jakobsson 6 pts

Runner-up:           Elaine Sheridan 13 pts

3rd:                       Sinead O'Donoghue 15 pts

4th:                       Una Buckley 19 pts

5th                        Liz Deane 36 pts



The title of Short course Champion went to David Moylan. Runner up on the Short course was Erin O'Brien. The final podium place went to Eoin Sweeney.

Short Course League

WINNER:                 David Moylan 31pts

Runner-up:              Erin O'Brien 44 pts

3rd:                          Eoin Sweeney 52 pts

This year we had a great number of individuals and families complete the Short course league. No doubt with all this orienteering experience there will be some future orienteering stars in the making here. All the Short course finishers listed below received medals to mark their outstanding achievement in completing the league.

Sarah O'Sullivan

Patrick O'Sullivan

Leah O'Sullivan

Ruairi O'Sullivan

Max O'Shea

Matthew O'Shea

Emma Moynihan

Luke Moynihan

Rian Moynihan

Emily Cronin

Trevor Moynihan

Deirdre Murphy

Aoife Mannix

Thomas Desmond

Stephanie Desmond

Isabelle O'Brien

Shane Murray

Isabelle Murray

Special medals were also handed out on the night to some very enthusiastic junior orienteers that almost finished this year’s league. 

MHG Whizz - Gerry Brett

MHG Whizz - David Brett

MHG Whizz - Maeve Brett

MHG Whizz - Niamh Brett

Abbey Collins

Ruadh Collins

Aisling O'Mahony

Laoise O'Mahony

Daniel O'Riordan

Matthew O'Riordan

Jens Moloney

It was tremendous to see the sheer delight of many of our junior prize winners at their wonderful achievements. Congratulations to our Champions, winners and medalists and well done to all our league finishers and participants. Some photo's from the event are available at the following link: 

We would like to once again thank all the planners and event organisers for helping stage all eleven events in the league. Without them we wouldn't have a league.

Finally, we would also like to thank everyone who participated at all our league events. Without you the league wouldn't have been the success that it was. We really appreciate your support and hope you enjoyed the courses and venues we visited along the way.

Enjoy the break and hopefully see you back and refreshed at the Autumn League.