Kilworth Army Camp RESULTS

Post date: Dec 11, 2016 6:48:42 PM

RESULTS from today's Munster League finale at Kilworth Army Camp can be found here:

Thanks to all who travelled long distances to take part - apparently many other parts of the country enjoyed sunshine this morning! The weather each year at Kilworth is a lottery. This year brought fog, which forced our orienteers to keep careful map contact and probably saved the planner from a scolding for setting shorter-than-usual courses! After downloading, our runners feasted on hot drinks and baked goods from Rosemarie O'Sullivan-Hourihan's Christmas Kitchen, with donations going to the Irish Junior Orienteering Squad. I would like to thank Rosemarie and her helper bakers for once again adding to the festive atmosphere at this year's race. It was also a pleasure to welcome members of the Defence Forces Orienteers and former member of CorkO and Southern Orienteers Timmy Morrissey, whose daughter Niamh represented 1 BAR DFO today.

Thanks to the Defence Forces for allowing us to use this unique area once again this year. Special thanks are owed to Paul O'Sullivan-Hourihan for liaising with the staff at Kilworth Camp, for controlling the event and indeed for putting out all the controls. Thanks to Gerald Duffy for signage and to Liam O'Brien, Willie Fitzgerald and the Midleton CBS boys for control collection. Thanks also to Daithi Power for manning the starts.

Well done also to the winners of the Munster League, which concluded today. The final league table is available here:

The next CorkO event will be our Christmas fun event at Ballincollig Regional Park on December 27th (further details to follow). In the meantime, let me take this opportunity to wish all our followers a Happy Christmas.

Rob McEvoy

Chairman, Cork Orienteers

Elaine Sheridan (CorkO) and Natsuko Cotter (BOC), who took 2nd place and 1st place respectively at this year's Munster League on the Green course

Munster League Co-ordinator Danny O'Hare with Andrew Turner (CorkO) and Dan McDonnell (CorkO), 1st and 2nd place winners on the Blue course at the 2016 Munster League

Liam Cotter (BOC) and Willie Fitzgerald (CorkO), who took 2nd place and 1st place respectively in the mens section at this year's Munster League on the Green course.

Josh O'Sullivan Hourihan and Zac O'Sullivan Hourihan (BOC) 1st and 3rd place winners on the Brown course at the 2016 Munster League.