MOC Results

Post date: Dec 13, 2015 10:20:32 PM

Well done to all who took part in the 2015 Munster Orienteering Championships at Kilworth Camp today. Indeed, we had competitors not just from Munster but from the four provinces of Ireland, giving today's event the feel of a mini Irish champs! Full results can be viewed here: If you're into RouteGadget please follow the link and upload your GPS track or manually draw your route (it will be of great interest to the planner and to your fellow competitors!)

Thanks to the large team of people who helped to stage this year's event. Thanks to Josh and Paul O'Sullivan-Hourihan for re-surveying the area and updating the map, and to the Defence Forces for allowing permission to use the area. Thanks to Comdt Sean Murphy and John Scannell who respectively planned and controlled today's courses. Sean and John also put out all the controls yesterday in the driving wind and rain, bearing the brunt of this weekend's weather conditions at Kilworth. A large crew of CorkO stalwarts were on hand today to ensure the event ran smoothly - assisting with parking, signage, starts, finishes, results, prizegiving, control collection and clean-up - thank you all once again for your generousity with your time.

We are grateful to the IOA for sponsoring the official photography for this event, and no doubt the photostream will begin to flow in the coming hours and days. If you have any photos of your own that you would like to share, you can post them to the event page on Facebook ( Finally, thanks to Rosemary O'Sullivan-Hourihan for providing the delicious catering for this event, and generating a warm and social Christmas atmosphere in the assembly hall. Hopefully a lot of money was raised for the Irish Junior Squad today.

At CorkO we have one event left in 2015, that is our Christmas fun event at Fota House & Gardens in 2 weeks' time on December 27th. Keep an eye out on our website for details, or take a look at our Facebook page

Happy Christmas and best wishes for 2016.

Rob McEvoy (Organiser & CorkO Chair)

Pictured: M21L Munster Champion, CorkO's Darren Burke being presented with the perpetual trophy by CorkO Secretary Elaine Sheridan.

This is Darren's 7th consecutive time to win the title and 9th(??) overall. Fantastic achievement!