Summer League Course Leaders

Post date: Jul 13, 2015 11:2:50 PM

With just one competitive event left in the 2015 Summer League it's time to take a snapshot of the course leader-boards and see who is in contention for the Championship titles.


At present there are 24 finishers in the Long course Men’s section. Despite some impressive runs from Josh O’Sullivan Hourihan throughout the league campaign with just four events completed he will unfortunately not be able to complete the league and right now Conrad Daly tops the table with 14 points. This time last year Conrad Daly was the one chasing a runners-up spot at the final event in the 2014 league and now he is the one being chased. He has a comfortable lead which will make it extremely difficult for any of the chasing pack to catch him. Donal Murphy, Agris Kramins and Brian Corbett are among the pursuers. Donal currently holds the runners-up spot with 22 point just 4 points clear of Agris. Meanwhile a good run from Brian could see him discard his 11th place finish at Doneraile Park and potentially muscle his way into the top three. So while Conrad can afford to enjoy his run around Curragh Woods some focused navigation and running will be required from the chasers if they want a good result which will reorder the current league placings.


In the Ladies section Niamh Corbett is the runaway leader with 7 points. With close to the perfect score she can’t be denied the honour of being crowd the 2015 Summer League Long Course Women’s Champion. Presently, Eibhlin Cleary holds the runners-up spot with 13 points a mere 3 points clear of Trishia O'Mahony who is lying in third place. Trishia is also a meagre 3 points clear of Elaine Sheridan. A first place finish for Trishia at Curragh Wood could see her tie with Eibhlin for the runners up honour assuming Eibhlin finishes outside the top four. There are three ladies in contention for 5th place. Sinead O’Donoghue is presently leading the chasers but a good run from Liz Deane could see her overtake Sinead and if Norah O’Brien, Clare O’Brien or Deirdre Mannix attend the event and run well they could potentially clinch 5th place.


On the Short course Matthew Kearney took the 2015 Summer League Short Course Champion title after the 6th event with 6 consecutive event wins giving him the best possible point tally of 6 points. Liam Twomey has a firm hold on the runners up spot with 15 points and it is unlikely he will lose his grip on this honour. Zane Kramina is presently sitting in third place with 43 points. However, a good run from Issac Bosonnet at Curragh Wood could see him deny her this honour.

There is plenty of potential for some re-shuffling of the order in the league table following the Curragh Wood event. It remains to be seen who will cope best with this added pressure and who will survive the epic 300m climb on the Long course. It is sure to be a testing conclusion to the competitive side of the 2015 Summer League. Hope you can be part of the action.

Full results table is available here. If you spot any errors or omissions be sure to let us know.