Summer League Finale, Farran Forest Park TUESDAY JULY 23rd Event Info

Post date: Jul 21, 2013 9:35:43 PM

The final event in the CorkO 2013 Orienteering Summer league will take place at Farran Forest Park on Tuesday 23rd July. As this is the Summer League Finale the event will be followed by a BBQ and prize-giving.

The format of the orienteering event will be 'Sprint' orienteering with many changes in direction and with route choices between the controls. There will be two courses on offer: 

A 2.2km (straight line) course for those who normally do the short course and 

A 3.4km (straight line) course for those who normally do the long course. 

The map has been significantly updated in the past month and is at a scale of 1:4,000. 

This week to create more of an atmosphere at the event the start times have been condensed a bit and will be between 6pm and 6.45pm. As this event is all about fun we would encourage you to partner up with a person of similar ability and have a 'head-to-head' race.

We have asked for the barrier to the forest park to be opened for free entry between 5.30pm and 6.30pm. If you arrive outside this time you will likely have to pay the €5 entrance fee.

The cost of entry for this event will be €5 per person which includes your BBQ ticket.

The BBQ will start at 7pm in the National Rowing Centre which is also in the park (a 50m walk from the car park) and gives us all a chance to discuss routes and what you think of the orienteering. We plan to have the prize-giving for the league around 7:45pm. So if your name appears among the prize winners below don't miss your moment of glory and come along to collect your hard earned prize!


Long Course Men's League

WINNER:                  Cillin Corbett                     (10pts)

Runner-up:                Donal Murphy                       (14pts)

3rd:                          Brian Corbett                        (15pts)

4th:                          Jonathan Lucey                    (16pts)

5th:                          Aidan Kelleher/Danny O'Hare (24pts)

Long Course Women's League

WINNER:                  Niamh Corbett                    (6pts)

Runner-up:                Ailbhe Creedon                     (8pts)

3rd                           Trishia O'Mahony                  (12pts)

4th:                          Elaine Sheridan                    (17pts)

5th:                          Liz Deane                            (29pts)

Short Course League

WINNER:                 Joe Bosonnet                          (9pts)

Runner-up:               Sarah Fitzgerald                        (32pts)

3rd:                         Sienna Bosonnet                       (43pts)

4th:                         Jamie Condon                           (54pts)

5th:                         Barry Ryan                               (55pts)

6th:                         Jerry Moynihan                         (60pts)

7th:                         Finbarr Scannell/Kate Coleman  (69pts)

9th:                         Rachel Fitzgerald                      (87pts)

10th:                       Sarah Scannell                         (95pts)

11th:                       Helen Cogan                            (105pts)

Full Individual Results are available here.


Team South (71pts)

Aidan Kelleher,

Dermot O'Sullivan

Dave Sweeney

Pat Rodgers

James O'Keeffe

Justin Crowley

Liz Deane

Christine Maunsel

Joe Bosonnet

Sienna Bosonnet

Gillian O'Leary

Ruby Scannell

Fiadh O'Leary

Full Team Results are available here.



If you didn't manage to achieve one of the top places in the league don't worry all league finishers will receive a specially designed T-shirt. Similar to last year to avoid waste and ensure that you receive a T-shirt that fits you correctly we will have some sample T-shirts available at the Farran Forest Park on Tuesday for you to try on. We will then order your desired size and you can collect it at any of our Autumn League events.

So far we have 73 league finishers. If your name appears on the T-Shirt tab in the individual results files (see link above) you are one of the lucky 73. Furthermore, the following people can still qualify for a T-shirt if they run on Tuesday, so do come out and compete.

Kearney Family

John O'Donovan

John Kissane


Fiona Craven

Aisling Power

Eimear Harrington

Hope to see you there,


Cork Orienteering Club